Executive Committee

The executive committee of BESA comprises 16 members who are elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). Members term of office is normally three years. The group is constituted to represent the different universities with an interest in the association.

The formal powers of the Executive are set out in item 4 of the Constitution. Briefly, the group manages the affairs of the Association on a day-to-day basis. It organises the conferences, colloquiums, maintains links with other organisations such as the QAA and Escalate and formulates policies for the association. The group meets four times a year in one of the members universities. Minutes of the meetings are kept by the secretary.

There are some officer posts which are elected each year at the AGM. Names of the current post-holders are given here:

Chair: Zeta Brown
Secretary: Caroline Lewis
Treasurer: Cathal O’Siochru
Membership Secretary: Ruth Mieschbuehler

Executive Committee Members

London Metropolitan University
Bath Spa University
University of Wales Trinity Saint David
Cardiff Metropolitan University
Bath Spa University
Liverpool Hope University
No available information
No available information
University of Wolverhampton
Manchester Metropolitan University
Royal Roads University
No available information
University Centre North Lindsey
University of Bolton
Institute of Education, University of Derby
No available information

Each year a sub-committee is appointed to manage the details for the Annual Conference.

Colleagues have found membership of the Executive to be interesting and informative. It is good to meet with colleagues in the different universities to discuss matters of concern to Education Studies. There are usually places available on the Executive each year. If you are interested in joining the Executive, do contact the Chair to discuss it and ensure that you are proposed at the next AGM.